Days of Holy Obligation in South Africa

(Tridentine South Africa )

Article by Marc Aupiais

Catholics in South Africa are obligated to attend church on Sundays throughout the year, and on:

December 25th: (Christmas Day, or Midnight Mass): the Nativity of Our Lord;

Thursday of the Sixth Week of the Easter season: The Ascension of Christ;

August 15th: Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary: Into Heaven.

The Following days: In South Africa: are transfered to Sundays:

The Feast of the Epiphany (6th of January) is transfered to the Sunday between January 2nd, and January 8th;

The Body and Blood of Christ (Corpus Christi) (usually Thursday after Trinity Sunday), is celebrated in South Africa: on the Sunday after Trinity Sunday: i.e. on the second Sunday after Pentecost.

All Saints (International Date: 1st November) is: in South Africa; celebrated on the Sunday after All Saints, in South Africa.

The Other four Days of obligation: in South Africa, are absolved: meaning that one does not have to attend these:

Immaculate Conception(8th December);
Blessed Virgin Mary, Mother of God: 1st January;
Saint Joseph: 19 March;
The Apostles: Saint Peter and Saint Paul: 29 June.

Much thanks to Father Chris Townsend of the Southern African Catholic Bishops Conference(SACBC), and to the Archdiocese of Pretoria, who I find highly useful.

Holy Days of Obligation in Canada, Australia, Ireland, England and Wales, and America: